You are here

5th NSF/TCPP Workshop on Parallel and Distributed Computing Education (EduPar-15)

In conjunction with 
29th IEEE International Parallel & 
Distributed Processing Symposium,
May 23-27, 2015, Hyderabad, India


 Technical Program 


Parallel and Distributed Computing (PDC) now permeates most computing activities. The pervasiveness of computing devices containing multicore CPUs and GPUs, including home and office PCs, laptops, and mobile devices, is making even common users dependent on parallel processing. Certainly, it is no longer sufficient for even basic programmers to acquire only the traditional sequential programming skills. The preceding trends point to the need for imparting a broad-based skill set in PDC technology at various levels in the educational fabric woven by Computer Science (CS) and Computer Engineering (CE) programs as well as related computational disciplines.  However, the rapid changes in computing hardware platforms and devices, languages, supporting programming environments, and research advances, more than ever challenge educators in knowing what to include in the curriculum and what to teach in any given semester or course.

The 5th workshop on Parallel and Distributed Computing Education invites unpublished manuscripts from individuals or teams from academia, industry, and other educational and research institutes on topics pertaining to the teaching of PDC topics in the Computer Science and Engineering curriculum as well as in Computational Science and with PDC and high performance computing (HPC) concepts. The emphasis of the 5th workshop continues to be on undergraduate education, although certain aspects of graduate education, if relevant to undergraduates, may be considered at the discretion of the program committee.  The workshop especially seeks papers that report on experience with implementing aspects of the NSF/TCPP or ACM/IEEE CS2013 curriculum or other novel approaches to incorporating PDC topics into undergraduate core courses that are taken by the majority of students in a program. Methods, pedagogical approaches, tools, and techniques that have the potential for adoption across the broader community are of particular interest.

This effort is in coordination with the TCPP curriculum initiative ( for CS/CE undergraduates supported by NSF and its NSF-supported Center for Parallel and Distributed Computing Curriculum Development and Educational Resources (CDER).

 The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

1. Pedagogical issues in PDC

2. Novel ways of teaching PDC topics, including informal learning environments

3. Models for incorporating PDC topics in core CS/CE curriculum

4. Experience with incorporating PDC topics into core CS/CE courses

5. Experience with incorporating PDC topics in the context of other applications learning

6. Pedagogical tools, programming environments, and languages for PDC

SUBMISSION GUIDELINES: Authors are asked to submit 6-8 page papers in pdf format at the EasyChair submission site  Submissions should be formatted as single-spaced double-column pages using 10-point font on 8.5x11 inch pages (IEEE conference style), including figures, tables, and references. See style templates for details.

Submissions will be reviewed based on the novelty of contributions, impact on broader undergraduate curriculum, particularly on core curriculum, relevance to the goals of the workshop,  and, for experience papers, the results of their evaluation and the evaluation methodology.

All accepted papers will appear in the IPDPS workshop proceedings.

LaTex Package

Word Template

IMPORTANT DATES (tentative):

January 11, 2015: Abstract submission deadline

January 18, 2015: Paper submission deadline 

January 22, 2015: Abstract + Paper submission deadline 

February 20, 2015: Author notification

February 28, 2015: Camera-ready paper deadline


Workshop Chair:

Sushil K. Prasad, Georgia State University

Program Chair:

Andrew Lumsdaine, Indiana University

Proceedings Chair

Martina Barnas, Indiana University

Program Committee:

Ioana Banicescu, Mississippi State University

Martina Barnas, Indiana University Bloomington

Richard Brown, St. Olaf College

Jeffrey Carver, University of Alabama

Niloy Ganguly, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

Victor Gergel, Nizhni Novgorod State University

Nasser Giacaman, The University of Auckland

Domingo Gimenez, University of Murcia

Anshul Gupta, IBM Research

David Kaeli, Northeastern University

Krishna Kant, Temple University

Kishore Kothapalli, International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad

Andrew Lumsdaine, Indiana University

Henry Neeman, University of Oklahoma

Peter Pacheco, University of San Francisco

David Padua, University of Illinois

Manish Parashar, Rutgers University

Sathya Peri, Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad

Cynthia Phillips, Sandia National Laboratories

Sushil Prasad, Georgia State University

Yves Robert, ENS Lyon

Noemi Rodriguez, PUC-Rio

Jawwad Shamsi, FAST National University of COmputer and Emerging Sciences

Rudrapatna Shyamasundar, IBM, India Research Lab

Frédéric Vivien, INRIA

Michael Wrinn, Intel