You are here

EduHPC-16: Workshop on Education for High-Performance Computing

EduHPC-16: Workshop on Education for High-Performance Computing

Mon, Nov 14, 2016 

Time: 2:00 PM - 5:30 PM

Room 251-E

Workshop Website

Held in conjunction with SC-16: The International Conference on High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage, and Analysis

Nov 13-18, 2016

Technical Program


Parallel and Distributed Computing (PDC) along with High Performance Computing(HPC)  has become pervasive, from supercomputers and server farms containing multicore CPUs and GPUs, to individual PCs, laptops, and mobile devices. Even casual users of computers now depend upon parallel processing. Thus it is important for every computer user (and especially every programmer) to understand how parallelism and distributed computing affect problem solving. It is essential for educators to impart a range of PDC and HPC knowledge and skills at multiple levels within the educational fabric woven by Computer Science (CS), Computer Engineering (CE), and related computational curricula. Companies and laboratories need people with these skills, and, as a result, they are finding that they must now engage in extensive on-the-job training. Nevertheless, rapid changes in hardware platforms, languages, and programming environments increasingly challenge educators to decide what to teach and how to teach it, in order to prepare students for careers that are increasingly likely to involve PDC and HPC.

This workshop invites unpublished manuscripts from academia, industry, and government laboratories on topics pertaining to the needs and approaches for augmenting undergraduate and graduate education in Computer Science and Engineering, Computational Science, and computational courses for both STEM and business disciplines with PDC and HPC concepts.

The workshop is particularly dedicated to bringing together stakeholders from industry (both hardware vendors and employers), government labs, funding agencies, and academia in the context of SC-16, so that each can hear the challenges faced by others, can learn the various approaches to addressing these challenges, and can have opportunities to exchange ideas and solutions. In addition to contributed talks, this workshop will feature invited talks on opportunities for collaboration, resource sharing, educator training, internships, and other means of increasing cross-fertilization between industry, government, and academia. Proposals for panels and special sessions are also welcome.

KEYNOTE: The keynote address will be delivered by Dr. Janice E. Cuny of the U.S. National Science Foundation.

BEST PAPER AWARD:  NVIDIA Corporation has donated a Tesla K40 to be presented to the author(s) of the Best Paper, as selected by the Program Committee.

Plans include securing arrangements with a journal for a special issue on PDC/HPC Education to which authors of selected papers will be invited to submit extended versions of their workshop papers.

This effort is in coordination with the NSF/TCPP curriculum initiative on Parallel and Distributed Computing and the Center for Parallel and Distributed Computing Curriculum Development and Educational Resources (CDER).

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

1. Pedagogical issues in incorporating PDC and HPC in undergraduate and graduate education, especially in core courses.

2. Novel ways of teaching PDC and HPC topics.

3. Experience with incorporating PDC and HPC topics into core CS/CE courses.

4. Pedagogical tools, programming environments, infrastructures, languages, and projects for PDC and HPC.

5. Employers’ experiences with and expectation of the level of PDC and HPC proficiency among new graduates.

6. Educational resources based on higher level programming languages such as PGAS, X10, Chapel, Haskell, Python and Cilk, and emerging environments such as CUDA, OpenCL, OpenACC, and Hadoop.

7. Parallel and distributed models of programming/computation suitable for teaching, learning and workforce development.


Papers: Authors should submit 6-8 page papers in pdf format through the EasyChair submission site at Select its “Paper” track.  Submissions should be formatted as single-spaced, double-column pages (ACM format), including figures, tables, and references. See style templates for details. Accepted papers will be published in the conference workshop proceedings.

Author Instructions (new)

IEEE Template (new) 


September 2, 2016: Paper submission deadline 

September 26, 2016: Author notification

October 12, 2016: Camera-ready paper deadline (extended)


Organizing Committee:

Sushil Prasad, Georgia State University
Robert Geist, Clemson University
Anshul Gupta, IBM Research
Arnold Rosenberg, Northeastern University
Alan Sussman, University of Maryland
Charles Weems, University of Massachusetts

Workshop Chair: Sushil K. Prasad, Georgia State University

Program Chair: Robert Geist, Clemson University

Proceedings Chair: Satish Puri, Marquette University

Program Committee:

Robert Geist (Progam Chair), Clemson University
Joel Adams, Calvin College
Martin Burtscher, Texas State University
Ioana Banicescu, Mississippi State University
Martina Barnas, Indiana University
Virendra Bhavsar, University of New Brunswick
David Bunde, Knox College
Florina Ciorba, University of Basel
Brian Dean, Clemson University
Debzani Deb, Winston-Salem State University
Victor Gergel,  Nizhni Novgorod State University
Nasser  Giacaman, University of Auckland
Domingo Gimenez , University of Murcia
Ganesh Gopalakrishnan, University of Utah
Ajay Gupta, University of Western Michigan
Anshul Gupta, IBM Research
Jason Hallstrom, Florida Atlantic University
David Juedes, Ohio University  
David Kaeli, Northeastern University 
Helen Karatza, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
Karen Karavanic, Portland State University
Eileen Kraemer, Clemson University
Suzanne Matthews, United States Military Academy
Henry Neeman, University of Oklahoma
Peter Pacheco, University of San Francisco
Manish  Parashar, Rutgers University
Sathya Peri, IIT Hyderabad
Cynthia Phillips, Sandia National Laboratories
Satish Puri, Marquette University
Thomas  Rauber, University Bayreuth
Arnold Rosenberg, Northeastern University
Gudula  Ruenger, Chemnitz University of Technology
Erik Saule, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Jawwad  Shamsi, FAST National University of Computer and Emerging Sciences
Chi Shen, Kentucky State University
Suzanne Shontz, University of Kansas
Rudrapatna Shyamasundar, TIFR
Murali Sitaraman, Clemson University
Leonel Sousa, Universidade de Lisboa
Pradip Srimani, Clemson University
Srishti Srivastava, University of Southern Indiana
Nitin Sukhija, Mississippi State University
Alan Sussman, University of Maryland
Dominique Thiebaut, Smith College
Denis Trystram, Grenoble University
Susan Wang, Mills College
Charles Weems, University of Massachusetts, Amherst