You are here

1st European Workshop on Parallel and Distributed Computing Education for Undergraduate Students (Euro-EDUPAR)

Technical Program

with the support of the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Parallel Processing

As part of Euro-Par 2015
Vienna, Austria, August 24, 2015


Submission deadline: June 2, 2015
through EasyChair


SCOPE AND OBJECTIVES : Parallel and Distributed Computing (PDC) is nowadays omnipresent. It is in all the computational environments, from mobile devices, laptops and desktops to clusters  of multicore nodes and supercomputers, comprising in most cases one or several coprocessors of different types (GPU, MIC, FPGA). In this context, it is vital to train new generations of scientists and engineers in the use of these computational systems, so parallelism topics must be incorporated in Computer Science (CS) and Computer Engineering (CE) programs.

In 2010 the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Parallel Processing launched the Curriculum Initiative on Parallel and Distributed Computing, with Core  Topics for Undergraduates, and in 2011 started the workshop EduPar, dedicated to Parallel and Distributed Computing Education. Given the differences in education in different parts of the world, the Euro-EDUPAR workshop starts with the aim of analyzing PDC Education in a European context, i.e. the structure and organization of European education.

So, the 1st European Workshop on Parallel and Distributed Computing Education for Undergraduate Students (Euro-EDUPAR) invites unpublished manuscripts from individuals or teams from academia, industry, and other educational and research institutes on topics pertaining to the teaching of PDC topics in the Computer Science and Engineering curriculum as well as in Computational Science and with PDC and high performance computing (HPC) concepts, with emphasis on European undergraduate teaching, and the workshop especially seeks papers that report on experiences incorporating PDC topics into undergraduate core courses taken by the majority of students on a degree course. Methods, pedagogical approaches, tools, and techniques that have potential for adoption across the European teaching community are of particular interest.

The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  1. Parallel and Distributed Computing teaching in the European space
  2. Pedagogical issues in PDC, educational methods and learning mechanisms
  3. Novel ways of teaching PDC topics, including informal learning environments
  4. Curriculum design, models for incorporating PDC topics in core CS/CE curriculum
  5. Experience with incorporating PDC topics into core CS/CE courses
  6. Experience with incorporating PDC topics in the context of other applications learning
  7. Pedagogical tools, programming environments, and languages for PDC
  8. e-Learning, e-Laboratory, Massive Open Online Courses (MOOC), Small Private Online Courses (SPOC)
  9. PDC experiences at non-university levels; secondary school, postgraduate, industry, diffusion of PDC

SUBMISSION GUIDELINES : The submissions will follow the Euro-Par guidelines, in PDF format, and should not exceed 12 pages in the Springer LNCS style, which can be downloaded from the Springer Web site. Paper submission is handled electronically (EasyChair). The 12-page limit is comprehensive (text, figures, references). Complete LaTeX sources must be provided for accepted papers. Short papers and work-in-progress papers can be submitted and presented at the workshop, but they will not be eligible for the post-conference proceedings. Submissions will be reviewed according to impact at European level, the novelty of contributions, impact on broader undergraduate curriculum, relevance to the goals of the workshop,  the results and methodology.

The workshop proceedings will be published in a LNCS workshop volume after the conference. Only long papers (10-12 pages) positively reviewed by at least 3 referees and presented at the workshop will be considered for inclusion in the workshops proceedings.


There will be a modest number of small attendance grants (2 or 3, around 500 euros) for young researchers (Ph.D. students and Doctors in the last two years) presenting their work at the workshop. The application will be through comments in EasyChair when uploading the paper.


2 June 2015: Paper submission deadline
19 June 2015: Author notification
31 July 2015: Paper due, for informal workshop proceedings

2 October 2015: Camera-ready paper deadline


Workshop Co-Chairs:
Sushil K. Prasad, Georgia State University
Arnold L. Rosenberg, Northeastern Univ., Boston
Steering Committee:
Arnold L. Rosenberg (Acting Chair), Northeastern Univ., Boston
Henri E. Bal, Vrije Universiteit
Alexey Lastovetsky, Univ. College Dublin
Christian Lengauer, University of Passau
Pierre Manneback, University of Mons
Sushil K. Prasad, Georgia State University
Yves Robert, Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon
Rizos Sakellariou, University of Manchester
Cristina Silvano, Politecnico di Milano
Paul G Spirakis, University of Liverpool
Denis Trystram, Grenoble Institute of Technology
Mateo Valero, BSC
Vladimir Voevodin, Moscow State University

Program Chair:
Domingo Giménez, University of Murcia

Program Committee:
Marco Aldinucci, University of Torino, Italy
Paolo Bientinesi, RWTH Aachen, Germany 
Florina Ciorba, Technische Universität Dresden, Germany
Pierre-François Dutot, Université Pierre-Mendès Grenoble, France
Anshul Gupta, IBM Research, USA
Emmanuel Jeannot, INRIA, France
Eleni Karatza, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
Kishore Kothapalli, International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad, India 
Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, University of Paderborn, Germany
Milan D. Mihajlovic, The University of Manchester, UK
Julio Ortega, University of Granada, Spain
Dana Petcu, West University of Timisoara, Romania
Cynthia Phillips, Sandia National Laboratories, USA
Martin Quinson, University of Lorraine / Inria Nancy, France
Noemi Rodriguez, PUC-Rio
Julio Sahuquillo, Technical University of Valencia, Spain
Mitsuhisa Sato, RIKEN Advanced Inst. of Computational Science, Japan 
Christian Scheideler, Universität Paderborn, Germany
Leonel Sousa, INESC-ID, IST, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Peter Strazdins, Australian National University, Australia
Frédéric Vivien, INRIA, France
Roman Wyrzykowski, Czestochowa University of Technology, Poland
Julius Žilinskas, Vilnius University, Lithuania